Email Scam Targets Photographers
There is an email scam that I was made aware of recently that seems to be targeting photographers (thanks to Daniel Lemin for alerting me to this!). It’s a variation of the “Nigerian money scam” email that you have probably heard of before. Since this scam targets photographers (possible hoping to catch a high number of enthusiast or semi-professional photographers), we should all be on alert.
Below is a copy of one of the email variations:
From: Marcus Garvey <**********@yahoo.com>
Date: Jan 24, 2008 8:07 PM
Subject: BOOKINGHello,
My name is Mr. Marcus Garvey, I want you to handle of Physics seminar going on round the globe for my clients,which your country is the next place this seminar will take place.If you are a very good documentary photographer and portrait shooter.
They were non governmental organization by name; THE INTERNATIONAL PEACE MOVEMENT with sole ambition of bringing peace to the world,
I will be happy to discuss this more with you. by day rate for documentary photography that is not going to be used on the cover of a magazine or newspaper.that is just for images we need for internal use,
You will go and cover the event at another location?:seminar halls is located at:483 Great House Road Stratford Hall Stratford, VA 22558.
This seminar will start from 1st June to 22 June same month in the year 2008. Get back to me with your total cost for the 22 days.
So we can get this done. confirmation that you will be free to handle this project.i find your email from : photoserve.com .
You can call me to confirm:+447045708***.
32 Liverpool Avenue, Doncaster,
South Yorkshire, DN2
Mobile:+44-7045-708-***
Fax:+44-7006-069-***.
Kind regards,
Mr. Marcus Garvey
I did say variation above. There are variations on this theme targeting photojournalists, wedding photographers, etc.
The way this works is basically upon confirmation of “availability” and a pricing by the photographer, “Marcus Garvey” (who, BTW, is a famous Jamaican activist from the early 1900s) will send the photographer a check and ask them to forward a large portion of it to the conference organizers. Of course the check will bounce and the scammers hope the photographer will forward the money before the bad check settles in their checking account and bounces. Another way this could work, is the international phone number’s could be ones that cost you extra to call, well above and beyond the cost of a normal international call.
It’s a scam that all photographs should be aware of. Remember the old axiom: It it sounds too good to be true, it probably is.
Tags: email, photographers, scams, warning
February 6th, 2008 at 6:23 pm
Email Scam Targets Photographers…
Seems to be another email based scam going around the internet…this time targeting Photographers. All photographers need to be on alert!…
August 6th, 2008 at 4:42 am
Yes, I just received a scam e-mail from a person calling himself Jeff Coleman and his wife to be Mary, who apparently live in Malaysia and want to get married in the UK.
After agreeing to a date and a price for photography they then inform you that, some uncle has left them a wedding gift of £4000,00 and that the uncle will send you the check for you to deposit into your account and take out the amount for your wedding, and that yo are to help the couple transfer rest of the money to magazine publishers account as they want the images to be entered into magazines.
It was stopped there, but no doubt what would have happened then, is that I would have received a check for 4,000 (forgery or fake) and I would have then put into my account. It would take a few weeks for the check to clear as it is overseas. But the check would never clear, it would just bounce. Before that happens though they would contact me to say there was a mistake of the amount, say for example, 2,000 paid too much and for me to send the dfference to them, so that they would pocket 2,000.
No way. A total Scam.